Kissing Kelli e-Book Give-away!

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Thursday, June 30, 2011 on 4:34 PM

Click here to visit WeekInRewind.com for a chance to receive one of 5 FREE Amazon Kindle copies of KISSING KELLI!

Winners will be chosen on 7/7/11.

On WeekInRewind you will find information about great free and bargain e-books, so you'll want to check it out!


New book -- Goodreads Giveaway!

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Thursday, June 16, 2011 on 4:00 AM
Don't miss out on the chance to win the trade paperback of my new paranormal romantic comedy, Stuck on You!

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Stuck On You by Kathy Carmichael

Stuck On You

by Kathy Carmichael

Giveaway ends July 15, 2011.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win


Coffeemugged.net: The Great Indie Summer Read Giveaway!

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Wednesday, June 15, 2011 on 6:00 AM
Coffeemugged.net is hosting a fabulous book giveaway. Over 100 books will be awarded! The contest runs from June 15-July 31, 2011.


Guest Author -- Sibel Hodge

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Monday, June 13, 2011 on 4:00 AM

Today's Guest Author is the talented Sibel Hodge!

Sibel Hodge has dual British/Turkish Cypriot nationality, dividing her time between Hertfordshire and North Cyprus. She is a qualified personal trainer, sports and massage therapist, and writes freelance feature articles on health, fitness, and various lifetyle subjects. Prior to this, she also worked for Hertfordshire Constabulary for ten years.

Her first novel, Fourteen Days Later, was short listed for the Harry Bowling Prize 2008 and received a highly commended by the Yeovil Literary Prize 2009. It is a romantic comedy with a unique infusion of British and Turkish Cypriot culture. Written in a similar style to Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes, Fourteen Days Later is My Big Fat Greek Wedding meets Bridget Jones. My Perfect Wedding is the sequel to Fourteen Days Later, although it can be read as a standalone novel.

The Fashion Police was a runner up in the Chapter One Promotions Novel Competition 2010 and nominated Best Novel with Romantic Elements 2010 by The Romance Reviews. It is a screwball comedy-mystery, combining murder and mayhem with romance and chick-lit, and the first in a series featuring feisty, larger-than-life insurance investigator, Amber Fox. Written in a similar style to Janet Evanovich and Myron Bolitar, The Fashion Police is Stephanie Plum meets Harlan Coben. Be Careful What You Wish For is the second Amber Fox Mystery.

About Be Careful What You Wish For:

For fans of Janet Evanovich, Kate Johnson, and Gemma Halliday...

Armed with cool sarcasm and uncontrollable hair, feisty insurance investigator Amber Fox is back in a new mystery combining murder and mayhem with romance and chicklit…

Three deaths.
A safety deposit box robbery.
The boxing heavyweight champion of the world.

Somehow, they’re all related, and Amber has to solve a four year old crime to find out why.

As she stumbles across a trail of dead bodies and a web of lies spanning both sides of the social divide, it’s starting to get personal. Someone thinks Amber’s poking her nose in where it’s not wanted, sparking off a game of fox and mouse – only this time, Amber’s the mouse.

Amber’s forced to take refuge in the home of her ex-fiancĂ©, Brad Beckett, and now it’s not just the case that’s hotting up. So is the bedroom…

All Levi Carter wanted to be was the boxing heavyweight champion of the world, but at what cost?

All Carl Thomas wanted was to be rich, but would his greed be his downfall?

All Brad Beckett wants is to get Amber back, but there’s a reason for the ex word.

Be careful what you wish for…you might just get it.

Excerpt from
Be Careful What You Wish For:

Vinnie Dawson stepped into the hallway with his thuggy mate from the boxing match. Vinnie wore a very expensive looking charcoal suit and a beige cashmere coat. His chubby fingers, resembling chipolata sausages, were encased in lots of thick gold rings. He shrugged out of the coat and Thuggy took it, draping it over his arm. Apart from the fact that Vinnie was older than Thuggy by about twenty years, they looked pretty much the same. Same big belly, same bald head, same evil eyes. The only differences were that Thuggy wore a pair of jeans that were so tight he looked like he’d been vacuum-packed into them, and he had a gap in his front teeth big enough to fit a bus through. OK, I take back all I said about owners not really looking like their pets.

‘Well, well, well, Amber Fox.’ Vinnie’s pale eyes drilled into me. ‘I never thought I’d be crossing paths with you again.’

‘I’ve missed you, too, Vinnie. Or should I say VD.’ I gave him my best I’m-not-afraid-of-the-big-bad-wolf smile. ‘How’s Lee?’ I tilted my head. ‘Got used to life on the outside now, has he?’

Vinnie did something that could’ve passed for a growl. ‘You’re not worthy to even mention Lee’s name.’

‘That’s funny because I already did.’ I faked a smile so wide that my mouth started aching. OK, probably not a sensible idea to antagonize Vinnie “Hard-Nut” Dawson, but the sensible part of me had just vanished in a puff of smoke. Bad guys tended to bring out the sarcasm in me for some bizarre reason. Maybe I had a secret death wish, I don’t know. Sarcasm was good for putting up a front. If you were frightened or nervous or you just didn’t want to make yourself vulnerable by giving away your feelings, sarcasm was just the ticket.

Vinnie’s eyes narrowed to slits. ‘What are you doing here?’ He pulled out a toffee from his pocket, slowly unwrapped it as he kept his gaze firmly locked on me, and popped it in his mouth. Thuggy took the wrapper off him and held it in his meaty fist. ‘Why is there a cop in your house, Letitia?’ Vinnie chewed as he waited for an answer.

Letitia frowned. ‘A cop? I thought you were here about Levi’s medical insurance.’

‘I am. I used to be a cop,’ I told her.

Vinnie let out a long slow whistle. ‘Not a cop anymore, eh? So you haven’t got any of your little cop mates to back you up now, then? I must remember that.’ He stopped chewing and belted out a throaty cackle.

As if on cue, Thuggy did the same. I wondered if that was part of his job description: Evil throaty cackling must be required at a moment’s notice. Failure to do so will mean termination of employment and/or sudden, agonizing death.

My eyebrows headed north at the cackling. A pack of hyenas had nothing on these two. ‘Has Lee been up to his old tricks again robbing banks?’ OK, it could be a simple coincidence that Carl Thomas’s bank had recently been robbed before he showed up at Levi’s fight in the vicinity of Lee’s cousin, Vinnie. But I didn’t believe in coincidences.

Vinnie abruptly stopped cackling. So did Thuggy.

Addendum to job description: All evil, throaty cackling must cease and desist at a moment’s notice.

‘Any more mention of Lee and you’ll be sorry. I have the memory of an elephant.’ Vinnie tapped his forehead.

I eyed his huge stomach, which was only slightly smaller than the Acropolis. ‘Just the memory of an elephant?’

Vinnie sucked in his stomach and glared at me. ‘Don’t think I’ve forgotten it was you who put him away.’

I pulled a mock horror face. ‘Ooh, I’m scared.’ Actually, my knees were shaking a little bit, but I wasn’t going to let on. Amber Fox rule number one: don’t let elephant-gut criminals intimidate you.

Vinnie gave me a superior smile that didn’t quite reach his eyes. ‘You will be. I think you should go now before my friend here takes a shine to you.’ He nodded towards Thuggy.

Thuggy smiled as well. It wasn’t a nice smile, either. It was the kind of smile that let you know he killed people for a living and enjoyed doing it, too.

I made a mental note never to use that kind of smile. It wasn’t very flattering.

I sauntered past Thuggy and Vinnie with a grin on my face. Luckily, they didn’t seem to notice my sauntering skills had gone downhill a bit because of my shaky legs.

This wasn’t exactly what I had in mind when I said I wanted an exciting distraction.

Be careful what you wish for.


Wonderful visit to Louisville, KY!

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Thursday, June 9, 2011 on 6:00 AM

Last month I had a great time speaking at the Louisville Romance Writers. They are a great group of writers and I enjoyed meeting them!

Speaking to LRW provided me with a wonderful opportunity to visit with my dear, darling, fun and fabulous friend, Anne Peabody Chism. She's pictured above in front of her awesome Clara Belle's Upscale Resale Shop in Louisville. Since I'm planning a book set around a resale/antique store, this was a perfect opportunity for me to do a little research (okay, to snoop!).

This is her rocking chair nook. Doesn't it make you want to find a chair and start rocking?:

This photo speaks for itself:

I hadn't seen Sandie Melton in years and she's just as beautiful and young looking now as she was when we were in our twenties.

Can't wait for my next visit to Louisville!


May TARA Meeting

Posted by Kathy Carmichael Wednesday, June 8, 2011 on 6:00 PM

The May TARA meeting was lots of fun. Pictured above is Cheryl Wilson handing out bling. She gave a great workshop on description. Beside her is Anne Marie Carroll, TARA's new prez.

Pictured below are Johnny Ray and Kristi Lewandowski.


Every Authors' Biggest Fan -- Kat Boswell

Posted by Kathy Carmichael on 12:06 PM

On my trip to Myrtle Beach, SC, I was blessed to stop by Kathy Boswell's home. She welcomed me graciously, fed me delicious steak, and let me hang out with her and her gorgeous children. After dinner, we walked to the pier near her home and watched a gorgeous full moon rise. It was a wonderful night!


New Paranormal Romantic Comedy -- STUCK ON YOU!

Posted by Kathy Carmichael on 4:00 AM

STUCK ON YOU is now available on Kindle and Nook! Book 2 in the Texas Legacy Romantic Comedy series, but can be read as a stand-alone.

Paranormal Romantic Comedy
Sensuality Level: Warm

Talk about magnetic attraction!

Accident prone is one thing. But electromagnetic impairment, too? Whenever Diedra Palmer's emotions run high, light bulbs burn out, watches stop and appliances go berserk. Between the accidents and the way everything around her breaks or goes wild, she's a total jinx.

Can two polar opposites...

Alec Sparks works hard to maintain control. After his parents' divorce, he took on the responsibility for his clingy mother. Now he's an attorney and looks after his clients just as thoroughly. No wonder he doesn't want even more responsibility--and that's what Diedra would be. She's an accident waiting to happen, a disaster in every sense of the word. But when Alec must join forces with Diedre to help a couple in trouble, the nearly combustible magnetic attraction sends their senses soaring.

... ever become soul mates?

Diedre likes her men in neckties and starched collars, all the better for mussing. And Alec Sparks is the starchiest man she's ever met. Trouble is, he's made it clear she can't have him. While Alec and Diedra work together, can they fight the heated desire flaring between them?


Copyright © 2009 Kathy Carmichael All rights reserved. Theme by Laptop Geek. | Bloggerized by FalconHive.